ISSN 0102-7638 printed version
ISSN 1678-9741 online version



Basic information

The Revista Brasileira de Cirurgia Cardiovascular - RBCCV is the official organ of the Sociedade Brasileira de Cirurgia Cardiovascular - SBCCV (Brazilian Society for Cardiovascular Surgery), association that was founded in 1969 as the Departamento de Cirurgia Cardiovascular of the Sociedade Brasileira de Cardiologia - SBC, congregating the Brazilian cardiovascular surgeons, having Professor E. J. Zerbini as its president, and Professor Adib D. Jatene as its general secretary.

In December 1984, that Department was transformed into Sociedade Brasileira de Cirurgia Cardiovascular, having in its statute the foundation of a periodical to be the official organ of the new society.

The Revista Brasileira de Cirurgia Cardiovascular was launched in August 1986, having been published two issues in that year. Its editor was Adib D. Jatene, and its executive editor was Lylian G. de Vasconcellos.

From 1987 to 1991 the journal was published three times a year, and from 1992 up to the present it has been published quarterly (four times a year). The RBCCV is published uninterruptedly since 1986, and distributed free of charge to all Society members, with an edition of 2 thousand copies.

The aim of the journal is to publish representative works related to the cardiovascular surgery, including original papers, research results, actualizations, case reports, as well as papers presented at the Congresses of the Brazilian Society of Cardiovascular Surgery.

The abbreviated title of the journal is Rev Bras Cir Cardiovasc, which should be used in bibliographies, footnotes, bibliographical references and legends.


Indexing sources

The Revista Brasileira de Cirurgia Cardiovascular is indexed in:

  • Literatura Latino-Americana em Ciências da Saúde (Lilacs)
  • Index Medicus Latino-Americano (IMLA)
  • Thomson-Reuters
  • Scopus
  • Index Copernicus
  • Latindex


Intellectual property

All content of the journal, except where identified, is licensed under a Creative Commons attribution-type BY-NC.



The sustaining members of the journal are:

  • Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (CNPq)

  • Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP)


[Home] [Editorial board] [Instructions to authors] [Subscription]

Av. Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, 1505
15091-450 São José do Rio Preto SP Brasil
Tel: (17) 2136-7071 /Fax: (17) 2136-7030