ISSN 0482-5004 printed version
ISSN 1809-4570 online version



Basic information

Revista Brasileira de Reumatologia

Marcos Renato de Assis and Simone Appenzeller

Assistant Editors
Marcelo de Medeiros Pinheiro, Renê Donizete Ribeiro de Oliveira eValéria Valim Cristo

Francisco Airton Castro, Max Victor Carioca Freitas, Mittermayer B. Santiago, Paulo Louzada-Junior, Ricardo Fuller, Ricardo M. Xavier

The Revista Brasileira de Reumatologia (RBR - Brazilian Journal of Rheumatology), the official organ of the Brazilian Society of Rheumatology (SBR), was founded in 1957 and is currently published bimonthly in English and Portuguese. RBR was born aiming to disseminate the scientific production of Brazilian rheumatologists and has evolved into a process of internationalization. The initial direction was assumed by Waldemar Bianchi, then president of the SBR, Hilton Seda, general secretary, and Ayrthon Ferreira da Costa. The first number was published in September 1957. It was suspended in 1969 due to trade hindrance, but restarted the first issue of volume 14 in July 1974 under the editorship of Edgard Atra. From 1978, it became six numbers per year. In 1992, Hilton Seda returned to be editor until November 1994. Under the editorship of Luís Eduardo, initiated in 1997, was implemented the practice of systematic review of the articles by peers and the homogeneous formatting with the inclusion of title, abstract and key words in English in all articles. In November 2000 Iêda Maria Magalhães Laurindo took over as editor, improving the layout and standards as required by Scielo, which indexation was reached in 2004. From October 2008 RBR came to have as editors Mittermayer Barreto Santiago and Ricardo Fuller which amplified the editorial board, and attracted international publishers. In January 2009 Elsevier was hired to publish RBR, which start bilingual publication. In 2010 RBR reached the PubMed/Medline indexing. In July 2012, under the direction of Paulo Louzada-Junior and Max Victor Carioca de Freitas, RBR became part of the Web of Science. Currently, the editors are Marcos Renato de Assis and Simone Appenzeller.

Its title abbreviation is Rev. Bras. Reumatol. which should be used in bibliographies, footnotes and bibliographical references.


Indexed in

  • Web of Science
  • A Scientific Electronic Library Online - SciELO
  • Literatura Latinoamericana y del Caribe en Ciencias de la Salud - LILACS
  • Scopus
  • Index Copernicus


Intellectual property

All content of the journal, except where identified, is licensed under a Creative Commons attribution-type BY-NC-ND.

Institutional sponsors

The RBR receive financial supported of:


[Home] [Editorial board] [Instructions to authors] [Subscriptions]

Creative Commons License All the content of the journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons License

Secretaria Editorial RBR
Revista Brasileira de Reumatologia
Av. Brigadeiro Luiz Antonio, 2.466 - conjs. 93-94
01402-000 - São Paulo- SP - Brasil
Tel./fax: +55 11 3289-7165