SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.66 issue2BImmunohistochemical expression of markers Ki-67, neun, synaptophysin, p53 and HER2 in medulloblastoma and its correlation with clinicopathological parameters author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




Related links


Arquivos de Neuro-Psiquiatria

Print version ISSN 0004-282XOn-line version ISSN 1678-4227


DVILEVICIUS, Amylcar Edemilson  and  PRANDINI, Mirto Nelso. Selective hypothermia: an experimental study on traumatic brain injury in rats. Arq. Neuro-Psiquiatr. [online]. 2008, vol.66, n.2b, pp.391-396. ISSN 0004-282X.

OBJECTIVE: To evaluate the efficiency of selective hypothermia in the treatment of the traumatic brain injury in rats. METHOD: After the trauma produced for the model of cortical impact, a small craniectomy in the right frontoparietal region was carried through; after the procedure the animals had been divided in two groups of 15 each. Group A, without treatment with hypothermia (control group) and group B, treated with selective hypothermia for a period to 5 to 6 hours. After this time all the animals were sacrificed, their brains had been removed and histopathological analysis was carried through. RESULTS: Comparison between both groups was done using the counting of neurons injured for field. Counting in the control group n=15 had an average of 70.80 neurons injured for field against an average of 21.33 neurons injured for field in group B (submitted to the treatment with hypothermia), with n=15 also. The difference was statiscally significant. CONCLUSION: Based in the quantification of the neurons injured for field, the effectiveness of the treatment with selective hypothermia was demonstrated.

Keywords : selective hypothermia; hypothermia; neuroprotection; traumatic brain injury.

        · abstract in Portuguese     · text in English     · English ( pdf epdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License