SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.35 issue2Genetic variants and haplotypes of the UGT1A9, 1A7 and 1A1 genes in Chinese HanRelationship between leaf stages and epistasis for resistance to Stagonospora nodorum in durum wheat author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




Related links


Genetics and Molecular Biology

Print version ISSN 1415-4757


LOURENCO-JARAMILLO, Diana Lelidett et al. Genetic diversity of tyrosine hydroxylase (TH) and dopamine b-hydroxylase (DBH) genes in cattle breeds. Genet. Mol. Biol. [online]. 2012, vol.35, n.2, pp.435-440. ISSN 1415-4757.

DNA from four cattle breeds was used to re-sequence all of the exons and 56% of the introns of the bovine tyrosine hydroxylase (TH) gene and 97% and 13% of the bovine dopamine b-hydroxylase (DBH) coding and non-coding sequences, respectively. Two novel single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) and a microsatellite motif were found in the TH sequences. The DBH sequences contained 62 nucleotide changes, including eight non-synonymous SNPs (nsSNPs) that are of particular interest because they may alter protein function and therefore affect the phenotype. These DBH nsSNPs resulted in amino acid substitutions that were predicted to destabilize the protein structure. Six SNPs (one from TH and five from DBH non-synonymous SNPs) were genotyped in 140 animals; all of them were polymorphic and had a minor allele frequency of > 9%. There were significant differences in the intra- and inter-population haplotype distributions. The haplotype differences between Brahman cattle and the three B. t. taurus breeds (Charolais, Holstein and Lidia) were interesting from a behavioural point of view because of the differences in temperament between these breeds.

Keywords : behavior; B. t. indicus; B. t. taurus; catecholamine; temperament.

        · text in English     · English ( pdf epdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License