SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.34 issue3The performance of the CROPGRO model for bean (Phaseolus vulgaris L.) yield simulationThe bagging of Annona crassiflora fruits to control fruit borers author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand




Related links


Acta Scientiarum. Agronomy

On-line version ISSN 1807-8621


AGUIAR, Bárbara de Melo et al. Fungal species that cause powdery mildew in greenhouse-grown cucumber and melon in Paraná State, Brazil. Acta Sci., Agron. [online]. 2012, vol.34, n.3, pp.247-252. ISSN 1807-8621.

The powdery mildew caused by Oidium spp. is an important disease for several crops of the Cucurbitaceae family. Although the teleomorphs, Podosphaera xanthii and Golovinomyces cichoracearum, currently have already been described as the causal agents of powdery mildew in Brazil, only P. xanthii is considered the main causal agent of powdery mildew field epidemics. The objective of this work was to identify and determine the prevalence of the species causing powdery mildew in cucumber (Cucumis sativus) and melon (Cucumis melo var. reticulatus) grown in greenhouses in the State of Paraná in Brazil. The morphological traits of the conidial stages, such as the presence of fibrosin bodies and a germinative tube, were used to identify the species. Leaves exhibiting high severity of powdery mildew were collected from plants of 13 plastic greenhouses during different seasons in 2003/2004 and in different regions of Paraná State. In all environments, a significant prevalence of P. xanthii (80-100%) was observed affecting parthenocarpic or ordinary cucumber and melon. Golovinomyces cichoracearum was observed in six greenhouses, with up to 20% of conidia of this species on the samples.

Keywords : morphological characterization; grafting; Podosphaera xanthii; Golovinomyces cichoracearum.

        · abstract in Portuguese     · text in English     · English ( pdf epdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License